What Is the Best PSD Letter Service?

The best PSD letter service connects you with a clinician licensed in your state through a live call and sells no registry products. 

Best PSD Letter Service

A PSD letter from RealESALetter.com documents your need for a task-trained psychiatric service dog in a housing request.

Many PSD letter sites look alike. Some sell registries that the law does not recognize. This guide compares six providers. It also gives you one simple test to judge any service.

Key Takeaways

A Legitimate Service Has Two Features: A live call with a clinician licensed in your state. No registry products sold as proof.

Most Prices Sit Near $200: ESA Doctors and Service Dog Certifications charge $199. NSAR charges $179.95.

Registries Carry No Legal Weight: The ADA does not recognize service dog registrations. ID cards and vests are optional extras.

Five States Take Longer: Arkansas, California, Iowa, Louisiana and Montana have 30-day ESA rules. Some services apply the same wait to PSD letters.

How Do the Top PSD Letter Services Compare?

Most PSD letter services in this comparison charge about $180 to $200. They differ most on refund terms and add-ons.

The table below lists each provider's published terms as of October 2026.

Provider

PSD Letter Price

Refund Terms

Sells Registry or ID Items

Turnaround

ESA Doctors

$199

Full refund if you do not qualify

Optional ID card

Not stated

NSAR

$179.95

Not stated for PSD letters

Yes. Registration kits from $59

Not stated

Pettable

Not shown on its PSD page

Full refund if the letter does not work (terms apply)

No. Sells PSD training

Not stated

RealESALetter.com

$199

Full refund if you do not qualify

No

24 hours after the call (30 days in AR, CA, IA, LA, MT)

Service Dog Certifications

$199

Full refund if the clinician cannot assist

Yes. ID cards, certificates, tags and vests

Not stated

Wellness Wag

Not shown before checkout

Full refund if not approved or if a landlord rejects it after a HUD complaint

None listed

24 hours after the consultation

A PSD letter only fits a dog trained to do a task. Owners of untrained dogs can get an ESA letter online for housing instead.

Which PSD Letter Services Are Worth a Closer Look?

Six services issue PSD letters through licensed clinicians. Each one differs in what it sells next to the letter.

ESA Doctors

ESA Doctors offers a $199 PSD letter that states your eligibility under the ADA. You get a full refund if you do not qualify. Renewal costs $125 each year.

NSAR

NSAR has issued service animal documents since 1995. Its PSD letter costs $179.95 and comes from a state-licensed therapist. NSAR also sells registration kits and ID cards. These items carry no rights under the ADA.

Pettable

Pettable offers PSD letters for housing through clinicians in all 50 states. Its PSD page does not show a price. Pettable states that a letter alone does not let your dog fly. Your dog must be trained. Read how flying with a psychiatric service dog works with the DOT form.

RealESALetter.com

RealESALetter.com issues every PSD letter after a live call with a clinician licensed in your state. It sells no registrations, certificates, ID cards or vests. Its letter does not cover task training. Training stays with the handler.

Service Dog Certifications

Service Dog Certifications sells a $199 PSD letter through a partner telehealth platform. Its checkout also offers ID cards, certificates, tags and vests. None of these are required by law. Learn why PSD registration sites sell products you do not need.

Wellness Wag

Wellness Wag delivers PSD letters within 24 hours of the consultation. Its refund covers a denied letter. It also covers a landlord rejection after a HUD complaint. The PSD price is not shown before checkout.

How Do You Spot a Legitimate PSD Letter Service?

A legitimate PSD letter service uses a live call with a clinician licensed in your state. Use this table to test any provider before you pay.

Check

Legitimate Service

Red Flag

Evaluation

Live call with a clinician

Approval from a quiz alone

Clinician

Name and license you can look up on your state board

No name or license before payment

What it sells

Letters only

Registrations, ID cards or vests sold as proof

Training

Says training is your job

Claims the clinician certifies your dog

Air travel

Points you to the DOT Service Animal Air Transportation Form

Sells a separate "PSD travel letter"

Housing

Explains the 2026 HUD change

Guarantees landlord approval

The ADA defines a service animal as a dog trained to perform tasks for a person with a disability. A clinician documents your disability-related need. Training your dog is your job. Online registrations carry no rights under the ADA.

Every RealESALetter.com PSD letter lists the clinician's state license number, issue date and contact details so a housing provider can verify it.

Housing rules also changed this year. Before May 2026 HUD guidance treated trained and untrained assistance animals alike. Since May 22, 2026 HUD gives priority to housing requests for trained animals. See how a PSD letter and housing rights fit together now.

Which PSD Letter Service Fits Your Situation?

Your state and your timeline decide the right PSD letter service. Your dog's training matters too.

  • You need it fast: Most services issue the letter within 24 hours of the call. RealESALetter.com assigns a clinician the same day and issues the PSD letter within 24 hours of the consultation. Arkansas, California, Iowa, Louisiana and Montana take longer.
  • You live in AR, CA, IA, LA or MT: California's AB 468 sets a 30-day rule for emotional support dog letters. The other four states have similar ESA rules. Some services apply the same wait to PSD letters.
  • You already see a therapist: Your own licensed clinician can write the letter. An online service helps if they decline.
  • Your dog is not task-trained: A PSD letter is the wrong document. An ESA letter covers housing instead.

Conclusion

Pick a PSD letter service with a licensed clinician and a live call. Look for clear refund terms in writing. Skip any site that sells registries as proof or promises to certify your dog. See if you qualify for a PSD letter with a free check before you pay.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I check a PSD letter service's clinician before I pay?

FAQ Icon

Look up the clinician on your state licensing board website. Search by name or license number. Confirm the license is active and covers mental health. A legitimate service shows the clinician's name before you pay.

Should a PSD letter service approve everyone?

FAQ Icon

 No. A real clinician can decline you. Some people do not meet the criteria for a PSD letter. A service that promises approval to everyone skips a real evaluation.

Can I trust reviews on a PSD letter service’s own website?

FAQ Icon

Use them as one signal only. The seller chooses which reviews to show. Check independent review sites too. A license lookup tells you more than any review.

How should a PSD letter service protect my health information?

FAQ Icon

 It should keep your records private and share them only with your consent. Ask how it stores your data. Read the privacy policy before you pay.

Should a PSD letter service charge me on a subscription?

FAQ Icon

 Not for a single letter. A one-time letter should have a one-time price. Check for automatic renewal charges before you pay. Cancel terms should be in writing.

Written by
Dr. Alex Morgan
Mental Health Writer · RealESALetter Editorial Team

Dr. Alex Morgan is a specialized writer focusing on animal assisted therapy, ESA rights, and psychiatric service dogs. With extensive research experience, he helps readers navigate ESA and PSD documentation and understand service animal rights accurately at RealESALetter.

Reviewed By
Tina Logan
LMFT. Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. · Reviewed October 2026

Tina Logan is a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist with 20+ years of clinical experience and an active California Board of Behavioral Sciences license. She conducts ESA and psychiatric service dog evaluations for RealESALetter assessing whether an ESA or task-trained PSD is clinically appropriate.

Medical disclaimer: The information on this page is for general guidance only and is not legal or medical advice. Whether the topic discussed applies to your situation should be determined in consultation with a licensed mental health professional.

Don't worry. Your pet stays with you.

Housing law is on your side

  1. 1A few questions. That's your paperwork
  2. 2A licensed therapist reviews your case
  3. 3Official ESA letter, ready to send
Start my evaluation

Not accepted? Full refund, guaranteed

Closed Icon

Login

Enter your email and password to access your account

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter your password

Show password toggle icon

Don’t have an account? Sign Up

Forgot Your Password?

Enter your registered email to receive your password

Please enter a valid email address

Return to login page or signup to create a new account

Check Your Email to Verify Your Account

We’ve sent a 4-digit verification code to .

Enter it below to confirm your email and continue your ESA process.

Didn’t get the code? Resend Code

Entered the wrong email? Go Back

Mail / email graphic icon

Your password has been sent to